Civil Service Commission.—The Civil Service Commission of Canada dates from the Civil Service Act of 1908. Under this Act the Commission was given the responsibility of applying, wherever possible, the principle of appointment by merit in filling permanent positions within departmental headquarters positions at Ottawa, termed the 'inside service'.

The Civil Service Act 1918 extended the competitive system of appointments to cover the outside as well as the inside service and temporary as well as permanent appointments. It made the Commission responsible for establishing a system of organization and classification that would secure uniformity in the staffing of the various departments and in the salaries paid for work of equal levels of difficulty and responsibility.

The jurisdiction of the Commission now extends to all departments of the Government and to a large number of boards and commissions, exclusive of Crown corporations.

The Civil Service Commission, which reports to Parliament and makes recommendations to the Government through the Secretary of State, consists of three members, one of whom serves as Chairman. Each member of the Commission is appointed by the Governor in Council for a term of ten years and each has the rank and standing of a Deputy Minister. The Commission has a staff of approximately 620 persons located in the headquarters office at Ottawa and in district offices at St. John's, Nfd., Halifax, N.S., Moncton, N.B., Montreal, Que., Toronto, Ont., Winnipeg, Man., Regina, Sask., Edmonton, Alta., and Vancouver, B.C.

Department of Defence Production.—This Department was established on Apr. 1, 1951, under the provisions of the Defence Production Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 62, as amended). Under this Act the Minister is given, with certain exceptions, authority to buy defence supplies and construct defence projects required by the Department of National Defence. The Minister may, if authorized by the Governor General in Council, undertake for an associated government anything he may undertake for the Canadian Government. In addition, all powers, duties and functions that theretofore were vested in the Minister of Trade and Commerce under any contract, agreement, lease or other writing entered into pursuant to the Department of Munitions and Supply Act, 1939, or the Defence Supplies Act, 1950, are vested in the Minister of Defence Production.

Broadly, the Department's functions are to procure military goods, to construct defence installations and to organize industry for defence as required on behalf of the Department of National Defence, other government departments, and associated governments; to promote the expansion of defence production facilities and the development of defence-supporting industries particularly of strategic resources important for the defence of Canada and its allies; and to ensure adequate supplies of essential materials and services for defence requirements. The main procurement units of the Department are six production branches—Aircraft, Ammunition, Electronics, Gun, Machine Tool and Shipbuilding—and a General Purchasing Branch. Major offices for foreign procurement are located at London, England, and Washington, U.S.A.; and the General Purchasing Branch has 14 district purchasing offices located throughout Canada for local or urgent procurement. In addition, there are various service branches which include Administration, Comptroller's.

The following Crown companies report to Parliament through the Minister of Defence Production: Canadian Arsenals Limited, Canadian Commercial Corporation, Crown Assets Disposal Corporation, Defence Construction (1951) Limited, and Polymer Corporation Limited.

Dominion Bureau of Statistics.—The Dominion Bureau of Statistics was set up by statute in 1918 as a central statistical department for Canada (8-9 Geo. V, c. 43). In 1948 this statute, which had been consolidated as the Statistics Act (R.S.C. 1927, c. 190), was repealed and replaced by the Statistics Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 257); it was amended by 1-2 Eliz. II, c. 18, assented to Mar. 31, 1953.

The function of the Dominion Bureau of Statistics is to compile, analyse and publish statistical information relative to the commercial, industrial, financial, social and general condition of the people and to conduct a census of population and agriculture of Canada at ten-year intervals.

The Bureau is the principal publication agency of the Federal Government; the subjects of the reports cover all aspects of the national economy. The Bureau reports to Parliament through the Minister of Trade and Commerce.

Department of External Affairs.—This Department was established in 1909 by "An Act to create a Department of External Affairs" (R.S.C. 1952, c. 68). Its main function is the protection and advancement of Canadian interests abroad. The head of the Department of External Affairs is the Secretary of State for External Affairs. The senior permanent officer of the Department fix the Under-Secretary (Deputy Minister) who is the chief adviser to the Secretary of State for External Affairs. The senior permanent officer of the Department External Affairs. He is assisted by a Deputy Under-Secretary and by three Assistant Under-Secretaries and a Legal Adviser and is advised by officers in charge of the various divisions, each responsible for a part of the work of the Department. The divisional heads are assisted by Foreign Service Officers, Administrative Officers and by an administrative staff. Officers serving abroad are formally designated as Ambassadors, Ministers, Counsellors, First, Second and Third Secretaries at diplomatic posts and as Consuls General, Consuls and Vice-Consuls at consular posts. Fifty-eight diplomatic and consular posts are maintained abroad.